Mar 142013

With thanks to Kenneth Watt.

Candidates in the Scottish Youth Parliament elections in Aberdeen were today joined by councillors and MSPs in a bid to push for more young people to vote before the close of the polls this week.

Organised by Aberdeen City Youth Council, who are hosting Friday’s results evening, Chair Barry Black ( pictured ), an outgoing MSYP, welcomed council leaders and Kevin Stewart MSP to the Town House.

With polling closing on Friday Barry said:-

“Voting takes two minutes and is very easy. This year we want as many young people as possible to log in and have their say in choosing their youth representative.”

“The SYP is a great forum which has influence at local, national and international level. I have had a fantastic experience over the past two years as MSYP for Aberdeen Central and am proud to have helped make a difference on many issues, like Equal Marriage and Votes at 16.”

Frank Doran MP today said:-

“As the deadline for casting votes fast approaches, I would urge those aged 14-25 in the city to participate, to have their say in electing representatives to campaign on issues that matter to them.” 

Voting is done online in three easy steps:

1. Go to
2. Enter YoungScot card number
3. Vote for your preferred candidates

If electors, aged 14-25, don’t have a YoungScot card number, they can obtain a polling code by emailing with their name and postcode.

Monday’s event was attended by Council Leader Barney Crockett, Deputy Leader Marie Boulton, Cllr Scott Carle, Cllr Ross Thomson and Cllr Fraser Forsyth. Kevin Stewart MSP also came along to show support.

Candidates for election are as follows:

Braden Davy
Dainius Balcytis
Jamie Ross
Stephen Anderson

South and North Kincardine
Kris Chapman
Megan Lukins
Piotr Teodorowski

Michael Hutchison
Struan King

  • Comments enabled – see comments box below. Note, all comments will be moderated.

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>